Museum exhibition

The Way We Are 4.0

Walter Swennen
Weserburg Museum für moderne Kunst, Bremen, Germany
8 October 2022 - 13 August 2023

The Way We Are 4.0 brings together some one hundred works from more than eighty artists and artist groups from different eras and contexts. Five thematic areas spread across 2,500 m² convey insights into international art from the 1960s to the present day: Worlds of the Body, Views of Germany, Aesthetic Objection, Displaced Everyday Life, and Minimalistic Tendencies. These thematic classifications are complemented by a series of artist spaces and an extraordinary art bar consisting of a former film set. This gives rise to unexpected readings of the art of our current era with respect to all the media.

The works on display come from a large number of private collections, from the museum’s own inventory, and from loans by artists.

The Way We Are 4.0 is being curated by Ingo Clauß and Janneke de Vries.

Nevin Aladağ, Carl Andre, Maria José Arjona, Monica Bonvicini, Carol Bove, George Brecht, Miriam Cahn, CATPC, Mel Chin & GALA Committee, Claudia Christoffel, Thomas Demand, Braco Dimitrijević, Felix Droese, Tracey Emin, Claire Fontaine, FORT, Kasia Fudakowski, Simon Fujiwara, Jochen Gerz, Paul Graham, Hans Haacke, Raymond Hains, Barbara Hammer, David Hepp, Nadira Husain, Sven Johne, Rolf Julius, Alevtina Kakhidze, Šejla Kamerić, Ellsworth Kelly, Annette Kelm, Alicja Kwade, Zoe Leonard, Renzo Martens & CATPC, Allan McCollum, John McCracken, Isa Melsheimer, Tracey Moffatt, Jonathan Monk, Horst Müller, Wolfgang Müller, Juan Muñoz, Henrike Naumann, Cady Noland, Oswald Oberhuber, Ahmet Öğüt, Marcel Odenbach, Roman Ondák, Sarah Ortmeyer, Michael Pfisterer, Claudia Piepenbrock, Agnieszka Polska, Charlotte Posenenske, Bettina Pousttchi, Laure Prouvost, Rima Radhakrishnan, Tim Reinecke, Pipilotti Rist, Julian Röder, Ed Ruscha, Michael Sailstorfer, Takako Saito, Fred Sandback, Karin Sander, Andreas Schmitten, Norbert Schwontkowski, Richard Serra, David Shrigley, Lorna Simpson, Slavs & Tatars, Andreas Slominski, Kathrin Sonntag, Daniel Spoerri, Sturtevant, Walter Swennen, Tatjana Trouvé, Gavin Turk, Ulay, Kaari Upson, Franz-Erhard Walther, Andy Warhol, Erwin Wurm, Yin Xiuzhen, Nil Yalter

For more information please visit Weserburg Museum für moderne Kunst.

Read more